First competition question

Hello. This is my first time entering a competition of this type, so please forgive my questions if they seem “obvious” to those of you who have done this before. I am trying to understand exactly how this competition works. Is this correct? I take the training data and create an equation using the explanatory variables given (or some combination of such) for the response variable that will give me results that, when entered into the log loss formula, will produce the best results for the training data. I apply the equation to the test data and submit my results in order that they can be tested against the actual results. Do I just send a list of the id numbers of the people who I predict will donate again? Also, the submission example assigns the prediction value of .5 to every id. Is that what I need to do or do I calculate a prediction value for each of the id numbers I submit. Again, this is my first competition and I have never used the log loss formula before. I am planning on using SAS for my analysis if that makes any difference to your responses. Thank you for your patience and responses.

1 Like

Hi @dkderden,

Yep, you’ve got the gist of the process right!

You want to submit a list of predictions in a format that exactly matches the Submission format. It should be a CSV file that:

• Has the exact same column headers
  • Has the same IDs in the same order
  • Has predicted values between 0 and 1

Basically, you want to change the prediction of 0.5 in the submission format file to whatever value between 0 (very unlikely to donate blood) to 1 (very likely to donate blood) your algorithm predicts for each individual.

Hope that helps!