Dtype error in submission

I am continuously getting a data type error in my submission. I am working with R and exporting a csv file as submission.

This is the error I am getting:
Unexpected data types in submission.
Expected dtypes: '[dtype(‘float64’)]'
Submitted dtypes: ‘[dtype(‘int64’)]’

I’ve checked the data types of the submission format file and they are similar to my output csv file. Not sure, what else is causing this. Any ideas about this?

HI Rishabh,

You get that error if you have numbers in your submission file that don’t appear with a decimal point “.”. So, if your submission is 1, 0, 1, 1, 0 you will see this error. If it is 1.0, 0.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.0 you won’t see the error.

I’m not an R expert, but here is how I would force R to output a certain number of decimal places. If anyone has smarter code for this, please share.

# create our data, which is a random sequence of 0's and 1's
fakePredictions <- rbinom(20, 1, 0.5)

# turn these into a data frame so we can print them
predictionsDataframe <- data.frame(fakePredictions)

# However, these are integers. The below will return:
# [1] "integer"
typeof(predictionsDataframe$fakePredictions)

# So, we can force these to be doubles,
predictionsDataframe$fakePredictions <- as.numeric(predictionsDataframe$fakePredictions)

# Now typeof will return:
# [1] "double"
typeof(predictionsDataframe$fakePredictions)

# The parameter nsmall to the format function is the minimum number
# of digits to display after the decimal point
write.csv(format(predictionsDataframe, nsmall=2), "submission.csv")